Daview

Juicing apples for wine

Rate this Entry
I'm looking for some help from anyone re making apple wine. As a wine making rookie, I've started with wine kits which seem to be turning out well.
I'm trying to bulk age it, so have only tasted a little
But so far so good.
I have some apple trees in the garden, which give a good crop every year, most of which are eaten by the local deer population (there is only so much chutney you can make ) so I'm looking to use the crop for wine.
I had the idea of juicing the apples as they fall in small batches and freezing the juice. I thought of using a juicing machine so I can do as many or as few as time allows. I don't know how much juice 2 apple trees would produce?
Does anyone see problems with this ?
Also, is it ok to just use apple juice, or should I be combining with grape?

Submit "Juicing apples for wine" to Digg Submit "Juicing apples for wine" to del.icio.us Submit "Juicing apples for wine" to StumbleUpon Submit "Juicing apples for wine" to Google Submit "Juicing apples for wine" to Twitter Submit "Juicing apples for wine" to Facebook

Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

Hi there

I now juice the apples in my garden, I bought a fruit juicer for the purpose, not sure if you want to do the same as I do, I will explain the process, you can decide for yourself.

I also try to juice the apples in batches, as they do not all ripen at the same time, when I have extracted all the juice from my apples, I place as much as I can in a large saucepan, and bring it to the boil. there is usually a large amount of 'scum' on the surface, which I skim off, and keep doing this until the apple juice is clear. I then pour the hot sterilised juice into bottles and seal it with a rubber cap.

As the juice cools, it creates a vacuum, the rubber cap indents. This juice can be kept for a long period or until you are ready to use it, I have used juice up to two years after making it.