mead and egg whites

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mead and egg whites

hello everyone , i followed an old recipe that told me to beat the two egg whites and put ino the mead , on putting the whites into the mead they split like something horrible , the mead is happily fermenting away and doesnt seem affected by the egg whites although there does seem alot of derbi on the bottom, is this normal any ideas

Egg whites are an ancient method of clearing a wine. They won't do any harm, although it is more usual to use them at the end of fermentation. I suggest that when all the gunk has settled you rack in to another DJ, then carry on as normal.
    Let's party

AKA Brunehilda - Last of the Valkaries

Comment

many thanks

cheers for the help , nice to be reasured , must admit its looking good ,cant wait for that first taste . think il try another recipe next time , but hey ho its my first attempt , plenty more to come hopefully

Comment

I would do the rack as soon as the debris from the eg whites have settled they have been known to strip some colour and taste.
        http://www.winensuds.com/ Gotta love this hobby

Comment

thanks for the advise , will do in the next couple of days

Comment

Every mead i have made has dropped clear after fermentation - and pleased i am for it!

But i would question why the forum would not advise two part finings or filtering rather than the use of egg whites.

Old books are full of outdated and crap advice, should we not be educating people with the modern recognised methods rather than advocating the old styles?

Discuss
            Asphaltboy More Beer - More Cheer

Comment

I agree

old recipes like that are confusing to newbies (they should be burnt......the recipes that is, not the newbies ) they cause no end of trouble for new winemakers, same with CJJJJJJJJJJJJ Berry and his "add 3 tonne of sugar" recipes

IMHO
              Last edited by lockwood1956; 07-10-2008, 09:28 PM.
              N.G.W.B.J.