Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ancient Orange Mead - Tutorial in Pictures!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ancient Orange Mead - Tutorial in Pictures!

Hi everyone,

I've recently made this mead and it's fermenting as we speak. As part of the process, I thought I would share some pictures and describe my method.

I must add that I am by no means an expert. In fact, this is my first ever mead! But it's easy enough so I urge you to give it a go. The recipe is a 'classic' and has been tried successfully by hundreds of people worldwide.

First, here's the recipe for a 1gal batch:

• 3 1/2 lbs Clover or your choice honey or blend (will finish sweet)
    • 1 Large orange (later cut in eights or smaller rind and all)
    • 1 small handful of raisins (25 if you count but more or less ok)
    • 1 stick of cinnamon
    • 1 whole clove ( or 2 if you like - these are potent critters)
    • optional (a pinch of nutmeg and allspice.....very small )
    • 1 teaspoon of Fleishmann’s bread yeast ( now don't get holy on me--- after all this is an ancient mead and that's all we had back then)
    • Balance water to one gallon
    I also added a crushed Vit B1 tablet to each batch to help with the yeast as it was going rather slowly!

Next, a quick pic of the equipment and ingredients:

And here's my method:

1. Sterilise ALL of your equipment thoroughly... I use WVP but there are plenty of other methods if you prefer.

2. Mix your honey with some warm/hot water and add this to the container. I emptied the honey out of the jars, then added hot water to half full and poured this in too to ensure I got all of the honey out. In all, it needed just under 3.75 of these Asda Smartprice honey.

3. Chop your orange and get your stick of cinnamon, clove and raisins ready.

(Bit of a pointless pic but I thought it looked arty!!)
    Last edited by Kevin; 13-05-2010, 12:41 PM.