Grapefest 2010 Ferments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grapefest 2010 Ferments

Add your numbers etc in here for easy finding!

Monte : SG 1.080, acid 3.7

6 trays, 10ml Trenolin rouge DF,

Merlot : SG 1.088, acid 3.5

6 trays, 10ml Trenolin rouge DF,

Trebiano : SG 1.100, Acid very low for white at 3ppm, tartaric added to 6ppm

1 tray, rhop P added, left on skins for 24hrs, pressed and settled.
    Last edited by Rich; 27-09-2010, 08:17 AM.

Merlot : 1094 @21C

Hmmmm. I got my acid to come out at 5.7ppt. I'm going to double check.
    Last edited by koomber; 26-09-2010, 09:19 PM.
    Dutch Gunderson: Who are you and how did you get in here?
    Frank Drebin: I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith.
    -Police Squad

Comment

Originally posted by koomber View Post
      Merlot : 1094 @21C

Hmmmm. I got my acid to come out at 5.7ppt. I'm going to double check.
      Is that 5.7 as tartaric or as sulphuric? Rich's were the latter.
      Pete the Instructor

It looks like Phil Donahue throwing up into a tuba

Comment

I'll be double checking it all in the morning before doing anything.

Comment

Just checked again. Binned the poxy little test tube (test tubes: there is a reason they use them for making babies. and not in the fun way) and went for a marstons strong ale bottle instead. Diluted it right back with some of our fine Scottish water to remove all trace of red. Re did the test and got 4.2ppt TA Sulfuric. Which comes in at 6.5ppt Tartaric.

Check here to see what your values mean for your wine.
          -Police Squad

Comment

My white has settled overnight, and despite being sulphited has started to ferment on it's own! So, think i'll leave that a few days before deciding what yeast to put in. (It is only 1 tray, and was bought as an experiment) it may end us as strong sweet desert wine.

Starters have been pitched in the reds. Think I'll wait to do any acid additions to these until after pressing and the final volumes etc are known.