This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about 1 Gallon Brew in a bag beer

Please post questions about the new beer making tutorials here.

I'll also remind everyone that the hot wort is basically a saturated sugar solution and should be handled with the same fear/reverence/respect that you would treat any hot sugary liquid with.
    Last edited by Rich; 01-03-2011, 04:25 PM.
    Dutch Gunderson: Who are you and how did you get in here?
    Frank Drebin: I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith.
    -Police Squad

No questions at the moment, but I appear to be the official beer-novice-guinea-pig. I'll be starting mine tomorrow, using a prototype ingredients kit, so I'll try to post feedback and questions as soon as I can.
    Pete the Instructor

It looks like Phil Donahue throwing up into a tuba

Comment

Also,

The actual quantities will differ slightly due to evaporation in different stockpots. Don't get too hung up if your final amount comes out at less than a demijohn full, if the SG is too high you can water it down a bit. If it's too low, then we'll figure out where it went not quite right.

Comment

Taking Rich's advice, I started with 7.5l water instead of 7. In the end I ended up with just under 5l at 1.050. We decided the best thing to do was to go with that, but after putting the phone down I decided to ignore that and add a bit of water . Once I had 5 litres in total, I was bang on 1.049, which was nice .
        Pete the Instructor

Comment

What a great Tutorial

will try it at the weekend (time permitting)

top job
          N.G.W.B.J.
          Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
          Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

Originally posted by lockwood1956 View Post
            What a great Tutorial
            I agree. I have always avoided making beer because I believed the process was slow, messy and smelly.