Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suitable Fermenting Vessel For Cider

*** Newbie Alert ****** Newbie Alert *****

After having had disappointing results with Turbo Cider and trying to please the wife I decided to go to our local HB shop and buy a kit cider, opted for the 5 gallon Maguum Pear Cider, I asked the lady in the HB shop if my Youngs 5 gallon wine Fermenter was suitable (like the one below)

To which I was told that it has to made in a bucket as the wine fermenter is just for wine and not suitable for beer, so I brought one from Wilkinsons but after reading the instructions it does say: "A fermenter holding 23 - 25 litres with a airlock and bung suitable for that" - does it need to be a bucket or will the wine fermenter do the same job?

The 5 gallon bucket is like the one shown below but would need a hole drilled into the lid and then a gromet and airlock fitted..........dont wont to get it wrong as this is my first attempt at making Cider / Beer.

Thanks

Originally posted by solly View Post

To which I was told that it has to made in a bucket as the wine fermenter is just for wine and not suitable for beer

If its not suitable for wine and beer... why does it say "Wine and Beer Fermenter" on the thing ??
    Insecure people try to make you feel smaller.

Confident people love to see you walk taller

Comment

Originally posted by spritzer View Post
      If its not suitable for wine and beer... why does it say "Wine and Beer Fermenter" on the thing ??
      Thats what I thought as well but did not want to get it wrong and mess up the cider hence the reason for the post.

Comment