Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Grist to water ratios and why they are important.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grist to water ratios and why they are important.

According to John Palmer a scientist by trade an award winning beer brewer by choice. There is a formula for success when sparging. In this article from BYO magazine he describes laughtering efficiency and explains why to use a proper spargeing system. From what I read and think i understand the no sparge bag system is highly inefficient use of grain grist as there is much left behind in the grains that could be rinsed out. He is a proponent of fly spargeing claiming the speed of the wash determines the % of recovery and the actual flow of the grain bed. With proper flows a grain bed will produce up to 90% efficiency were as a single sparge will only produce a 75% efficiency. In more relative terms proper sparging technique will give the chosen brew the character of the grain,The body associated with the style of brew and the proper srm colour to the brew. Where as with single infusion mash the quality of the brew suffers or you need more grain to produce the desired quality of brew.So here is his article from February 2008.

Happy reading
    http://www.winensuds.com/ Gotta love this hobby

If you are planning an extract or allgrain brew I highly recomend his book How to Brew. It is (mostly) available for free online and is more or less required reading.

Brewing has come a very long way since David Line did his pioneering work back in the day.
    Dutch Gunderson: Who are you and how did you get in here?
    Frank Drebin: I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith.
    -Police Squad

Comment

Originally posted by koomber View Post
      If you are planning an extract or allgrain brew I highly recomend his book How to Brew. It is (mostly) available for free online and is more or less required reading.