First Lager kit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Lager kit

I've just had a go at my first kit after only making wine till now.

My brew seems to have stopped a bit early. It's clearing and seems to have stopped fermenting at 1012. The instructions say it should go down to about 1006 before bottling and priming.

I tasted it and it still tastes a bit watery, so I think it could do with the extra alcohol it would get if it had managed to ferment out.

So...would it be possible to restart the brew? I have a feeling it is a bit cold, so I was thinking of standing the bucket in warm water for a while. Would that be worth it?
    Or maybe bottle without priming and hope it ferments out with the residual sugar and gets carbonated that way?

I'd appreciate some tips from the old hands on here!

I'm a Newbie but 100% you have to keep the temperature constant, around 20 degrees seems to suit just about everything, Yeast gets lazy in the cold but keep it at 20 and it'll come back to life.
    Keep on Truckin

Comment

The main thing here is how long has it been fermenting, how many days has it been at 1.012 and what kit is it?

The Watery-ness
      The wateryness of the brew is likely just because it is a lager kit and because it is not carbonated. Lagers are generally supposed to be clean and refreshing. There shouldn't really be any big flavours that you would normally associate with an ale in there. Residual sugars in beer usually contribute to sweetness and flavour.

Tiiiiiiii-iiiiiime is on your side.....
      Also, in beer the different sugars take different lengths of time to ferment, table sugar is very quick, but some of the sugars in beer take a long time to ferment. Yeast even ferment their own waste given the right conditions and enough time. This is why we condition beers. It gives the yeast time to clean up after themselves and make the beer a little bit more tasty (om nom nom nom nom)