Hop Ball

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hop Ball

I am trying to perfect a quicker full grain brewing method.

Following Bob's plan for using the lidl boiler with mash bag I got to thinking about the hopping method and found this...

Hmmm...
    Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

The only problem I could see with that is the circulation of the wort through the ball might be impeeded.

Personally, I use a grain bag for the hops too. Works brilliantly in the LIDL boiler.
    Last edited by koomber; 27-07-2011, 03:49 PM. Reason: I'm a lemon
    Dutch Gunderson: Who are you and how did you get in here?
    Frank Drebin: I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith.
    -Police Squad

Comment

Originally posted by koomber View Post
      Personally, I use a grain bag for the hops too. Works brilliantly in the LIDL boiler.
      The same grain bag ?

The wife wants one for rice, so when she is not looking... I will do some tests!

I am quite looking forward to a quicker brewing process. I am planning to take the LIDL boiler apart any minute now..
      Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Comment

I got myself a pack of these:

Bit pricey, but they do a cracking job and a frighteningly large amount of clag sticks to the bag during the boil. They are just cracking for the hops. I've never tried using one for grain, mostly because I don't trust the stitching.

Rich has a link to someone who makes the bags custome style and by all accounts they are legendary.
        -Police Squad

Comment

The amount of clag was my only concern about the ball. The hole will let a lot of it out.

Not god having big holes in your balls. (sorry bob!)

Comment

Originally posted by Cellar_Rat View Post
            Not god having big holes in your balls. (sorry bob!)
            Reminded me of this:

My Brewlist@Jan2011

Comment

Originally posted by David View Post