Malo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Malo

When is the best time for the MLF culture to be added for REDS?

Got all the tech instructions, but for red nobody mentions - before or after pressing ? I think before, BUT if I add it now, in two days I will be pressing ? And that will remove 15% volume (skins).

Should I wait until after pressing ?
    Last edited by Cellar_Rat; 19-09-2011, 07:59 AM.
    Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Read the instructions for the mlf culture you are using, I believe they vary.

The White Labs mlf that I'm using this year says to add before pressing so that it has stuff to feed on. More info HERE

Edit: I see you've read your instructions.. What make are you using?

Cut/paste from White Labs site on above link:

What occurs if added after pressing?

Q: I am an amateur wine maker. My local wine shop suggested that I try your Malolactic cultures. I crushed cabernet grapes and fermented them for 7 days. Your instructions make it sound like I should have added it to the must and let it ferment longer before pressing the must. Please let me know if I have done this wrong.

A: It is best to add the Malo before pressing so that the bacteria will have some sort of nutrients to work with. If the culture is added after pressing, it may just take a little longer to begin MLF, but should be enough to take off (although slowly). In addition, adding yeast extract or a complete yeast nutrient can help the fermentation be successful, even after pressing.
    Last edited by Rich; 19-09-2011, 08:45 AM.

Comment

I favored before pressing, but got concerned about 15% loss of vol.

I am using BioStart® Vitale SK11 from brewland - see attached tech sheet.
      Attached Files
      Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Comment