Strawberry Mead Question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strawberry Mead Question.

I made the following Mead using the recipe for sack mead from the book Making Wild Wines & Meads. Page 106. If I were to add a few pounds of frozen strawberries to it during the primary fermentation for some flavor would it turn out ok. Just a though. I am still new to the whole home wine making thing so please bear with me on all my questions.
    Here is the recipe that I used:

3 lbs. (1.4kg) Shop-Rite Grade A Fancy Honey
    1 tsp. (5g) Acid Blend
    1 tsp. (5) Pectic Enzyme
    1 Campden Tablet (optional)
    1 Package (5-7g) Montrachet Yeast
    1 tsp. (5g) Yeast Nutrient
    1 1/2 Cups (360 ml) orange juice, at room temperature
    1/4tsp (1.25g) grape tannin

Thanks to all.

Originally posted by paulwhite1964 View Post
    I made the following Mead using the recipe for sack mead from the book Making Wild Wines & Meads. Page 106. If I were to add a few pounds of frozen strawberries to it during the primary fermentation for some flavor would it turn out ok. Just a though. I am still new to the whole home wine making thing so please bear with me on all my questions.
    Here is the recipe that I used:

3 lbs. (1.4kg) Shop-Rite Grade A Fancy Honey
    1 tsp. (5g) Acid Blend
    1 tsp. (5) Pectic Enzyme
    1 Campden Tablet (optional)
    1 Package (5-7g) Montrachet Yeast
    1 tsp. (5g) Yeast Nutrient
    1 1/2 Cups (360 ml) orange juice, at room temperature
    1/4tsp (1.25g) grape tannin

Thanks to all.