BBQ Recipes Thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BBQ Recipes Thread

Hey, I said to grandmawoods in another thread that I'd share a recipe for some chicken I bbq'd, and thought instead of replying on that thread, why not make a BBQ recipe thread where we can all share recipes with each other, I'm always after new recipes, because I'm a beginner to bbq'ing

This is the recipe for the rub I use for my chicken legs.... I make a batch this size and keep it in a air tight jar, it makes more than is needed..

•1/2 cup dark brown sugar
    •1/2 cup sweet paprika
    •1/4 cup kosher salt
    •1/4 cup chili powder
    •1/4 cup dry mustard
    •1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
    •2 teaspoons Old Bay Seasoning
    •1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Then I used this recipe I got from http://www.bbqpitboys.com/

Wash and dry the chicken legs. Now coat the legs in oil and your favorite chicken rub. Then sear the chicken for a minute or two each side over the hot coals Move the legs to indirect heating (opposite the coals). Cover in a 250-300f grill for about 45-60 minutes, depending on how big your legs are. Add some hardwood for an additional smoke flavor. Remove when the chicken reaches 165f internal. Grilling time will vary, depending on how hot your grill is. Serve with your favorite hot or mild barbeque sauce.

Apologies for lack of pictures, my cameras batteries died, I'll get some next time

I look forward to reading some of your recipes

Been watching some of the BBQ prog's on UKTV food.......

Don't forget, what we in UK call BBQ is "Grilling" in the US. It'd be great to have one of those huge, enclosed type BBQ's to cook on, then you can do stuff like a whole suckling pig or half a lamb etc......

Really low heat, and just set the alarm clock to go out and baste it in the gallons of sauce for a day or so

As opposed to the half-cocked, cremated remains of some burgers and sausage that is passed off as BBQ here in the UK!

regards

JtFB