I need a Christmas Pudding lesson...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need a Christmas Pudding lesson...

Ok, I am completely new to the concept of Christmas Pudding. It's not something we do over here in the states (though we have a tradition of fruit cake, which is probably an offshoot). In fact, the word "pudding" itself has a completely different meaning in American context, and usually refers to a custard-like dessert.

Bob and Martina were kind enough to send me back to the US with a "pud" in my luggage, which I have hid (err... aged, rather) away in the cupboard for the last 5 months. I had considered making wine from it, but thought better, since I have no frame of reference for how such a wine is supposed taste. In lieu of that, I have decided to serve it on Christmas day.

So I've been researching, and come across a number of articles that say one needs to douse it in brandy and bring it to the table aflame. Really??? That sounds like fun. I like burning things.

What's the story? Can someone educate the thick Yank?
    Steve

Delia is just the girl to teach you

scroll to the end for the serving suggestion

please take pics
    N.G.W.B.J.
    Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
    Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

Excellent! I even found recipes for rum sauce and boozy butter concoctions to serve with it. What could be better than that?
      Steve

Comment

In my humble opinion.......

Rum butter is for mince pies........rum suace is for Crimbo puds!!!!

each portion (no matter how small) will be a trillion calories

but scrumptious
        N.G.W.B.J.

Comment

knowing how you like to cook.....how about some leek puddings alongside crimbo lunch?

the stuff of my childhood

the above link is a recipe i followed recently when i cooked for M.....maybe she should comment
          N.G.W.B.J.

Comment

and.....
            N.G.W.B.J.

Comment