Sour dough

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sour dough

Not quite the right forum I admit. But it is fermentation-based !!

Does anybody else make/bake their own bread from the kept sourdough starter?

For other reasons I am building a brick oven, and it strikes me, it would be nice to make my own 'natural' bread too.

Any hints, tips, books or links would be kindly appreciated (ovens or bread)
    Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Yes.

Will send you some links as soon as I find them

I have two sourdough starters, Trevor and Barry.

Takes a while to get going, but well worth it.
    Pete the Instructor

It looks like Phil Donahue throwing up into a tuba

Comment

Hi

I have been making sourdough for a couple of years. I have tried all sorts of starters and, for me, the best results I have had are with one of the simplest.

http://www.sourdoughhome.com

has taught me more about baking than dan leppard, richard bertinet and others. No nonsense and the starter just works brilliantly.

good luck

http://markblades.com
      Bebere cerevisiae immodoratio
      These days I'm drinking in Charcot's Joint.

Comment

Thanks chaps.

Originally posted by goldseal View Post
        I have two sourdough starters, Trevor and Barry.
        Why two?
        Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Comment

The only sensible answer I can think of is 'why not?'.

Trevor was grown as per some online instructions, using flour, water and orange juice.

After watching some telly programme where some bloke made an early bread using elderberries as a source of yeast, I threw a few elderberries and a crab apple into a flour/water mix, and it took off! Barry was born.
          Pete the Instructor

It looks like Phil Donahue throwing up into a tuba

Comment

is naming yeast starters the same, better, or worse than having an axe you have a name for?