campden tablet taste

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• campden tablet taste

Hi, I'm new to wine-making, and have followed instructions for wine no 1. The wine was bottled about a month ago, and I had a little taste today and although there's a pleasant fruitiness to the taste, the overwhelming smell is of campden tablet. I only added one (it smelled so much that I didn't add another when I degassed it) but it still stinks!

Is there anything I can do? I'm reluctant to try another wine because of this.

(My ancient orange mead doesn't smell/taste like this as I didn't add a campden tablet).
    Any advice/comments very welcome.

Can you describe the smell? Campden will make you pull your nose away from the gas but it is not what I would call smell bad. Would you describe it as a sulfur smell ?
    http://www.winensuds.com/ Gotta love this hobby

Comment

If it smells of sulphur, as in rotten eggs, you'd need to add about 1/2 a teaspoon of yeast nutrient, and give it a good stir.

I've never had a wine stink of Campden, and I use it as a matter of course when racking etc etc.
      Last edited by Her Lushness; 05-10-2008, 09:47 AM. Reason: Hit send too quickly - not 100% awake yet!
      HRH Her Lushness

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.

Comment

Originally posted by Her Lushness View Post
        If it smells of sulphur, as in rotten eggs, you'd need to add about 1/2 a teaspoon of yeast nutrient, and give it a good stir.

I've never had a wine stink of Campden, and I use it as a matter of course when racking etc etc.
        This wine is already bottled if it has a sulfur smell then there are other things to be done to fix the problem yeast nutrient will do nothing at this stage as the ferment is over.

Comment

Originally posted by rjb222 View Post
          This wine is already bottled if it has a sulfur smell then there are other things to be done to fix the problem yeast nutrient will do nothing at this stage as the ferment is over.