Help?????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help?????

I am really new to this so please be patient. I was given a stone in weight of Black Hamburg grapes so I crushed them, and left them in a bucket 3 days ago I added pectolase and 1 camden tab. This morning there is a funny sort of smell almost like that of those heavy duty markers that you should not sniff. The taste is ok though. Should I just scrap it and and not be trying to run before I can walk. I am not even sure what to do next with it. It seems to be much harder than fruit and flower wines. Someone please helpconfused:

I suspect that fermentation has started with the wild yeasts that are on the skins of the grapes, the campden tablet will have slowed them down, but i "think" thats what is happening here, I would introduce a cultured strain of yeast ASAP, preferably in the form of a yeast starter

see here for yeast starter info
    http://www.winesathome.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=908

fermentations make all sorts of weird and wonderful smells, although im not sure I had one that was like a dry marker.....

it could also be many other things, but getting a healthy ferment underway will cure a great many of them.

is the SG dropping?
    N.G.W.B.J.
    Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
    Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

Info on conducting a fermentation with red winemaking grapes

hope this helps
      regards
      bob
      N.G.W.B.J.
      Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
      Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

I dont know alot about wine so I am going to get fermentation going straight away My other half thinks it smells like solvent, anyway I strained it off the skins (must ?) and added yeast starter. The colour is great I tasted the juice and their is no bad taste (rather nice actually). The SG is 1080 I,ll let you know how it works out Thanks for your help Lockwood

Comment