Frequently fizzy wine - why??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frequently fizzy wine - why??

I've been making wine for a couple of years now and have had some jolly good stuff (just don't talk to me about meadowsweet). One thing that just keeps cropping up though is unintentionally fizzy wine. Typically the SG will indicate the end of fermentation yet when I siphon into bottles there will be a good "head" on the wine (!) and sometimes the corks are pushed straight back out again. On a couple of occasions I have chosen to bottle in champagne bottles (1 gallon of bramble, 1 gallon of oakleaf - both really good), on one occasion I've risked leaving it in normal bottles (at the back of the garage) and I have another couple of demi-johns that should be ready for bottling but I really don't know what to do with them. I'm pretty patient and the wine is generally in the demi-johns for about a year before I bottle. I'm not sure whether I'm dealing with another fermentation or lots of gas from somewhere else. Please could someone enlighten me with an explanation? Ta muchly...

Hi, do you degas?

Comment

Other than alochol another by product of yeast and sugar is gas. Once the wine is finshed I shake my DJs like a mad thing then leave the "fizz" to die down and then shake it again and repeat for about thrity minutes, althought there are probably easier way to de-gas wine.

De-gassing also helps with clearing. Apparently wine will degas itself overtime but I always de-gas as I've had bungs pop out of DJs whist aging before and ruin the wine.

Comment

I should add I rack half of the wine into another DJ and shake both, I imaging shking a full DJ would create alot of mess.

Comment