oh to be a brewer.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• oh to be a brewer.

hey there folks! my names danny and im new to this brewing m'larkey, i have ohbeary to blame lol (not that its a bad thing!). ohbeary brought me a kit as a secret santa prezzie at work and, its got to be said, NOW IM HOOKED!! lol im on my 3rd and 4th brew already! i have a lychee+grape (wine #1) and ace fruit juice+grape using the same recipe. my 2nd brew was one from vimto cordial which was bottled up and is going down FAST! i had to fortify it with some vodka so its got a slight vodka tang to it but hopefully that should go with time (if it lasts that long!). if any of you have some good advice to give to a newbie then it would all be greatly appreciated! maybe some new recipe's to play with

hey Danny,

two tips i would give you are keep enjoying brewing and buy a book too. I recommend a book cos then you can dip into it anytime you have a few mins and its much easier to read than a browser. i'd recommend CJJ Berry, "first steps in winemaking". it is out of date, and as such most of the recipes call for a bit too much sugar. But that aside it's so well laid out and such an easy read. It has heaps of recipes in it laid out by month from what you can forage at the time (great for when you want to brew something but are not sure what, and with spring coming there is a heap of foraging coming), or what was seasonal fruit back in the day! He covers all the must know "technical" basics and has useful tables for such things as OG and expected ABV etc, conversion tables blah blah blah.

Bob is working on updating his recipes. But you may just find it a good place for inspiration (as i have done for many years) and then go looking for a recipe that is more to your tastes.
    To most people solutions mean answers. To chemists solutions are things that are mixed up.
    A fine wine is a fine wine, 1st time may be by accident, 2nd time is by design - that's why you keep notes.