Trouble identifying wines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble identifying wines

hello, i posted on here a while back re the Blossom hill brand of wines . They have a picture of some grapes on the back label with a number. Now i have sussed that the higher the number the sweeter the wine.

as im new to the wine drinking im finding it quite difficult to sus out whats dry/sweet etc. the blossom hill with the indicator on the back has helped but today i bought a Blossom hill california red and the picture of grapes had a letter in it instead of a number

does anyone know what this equates to? it had the letter B so i presume its not the dryest they do but it was quite dry..and nice..

i have tried a few reds and didnt like any of them but this one was nice so it has given me back an interest for tasting them again.. im just confused to the letters instead of the numbers now..

i have tried getting on blossom hill sites but nothing is mentioned about the scaling on the bottles.

any help appreciated..

also i have been looking round wines and find no clue on many as to if its dry or not ???

billy

A to E is normally a grading of the size of the wine....

A being a lighter style and E being a massive oaky tannin bomb of a bordeaux

if you are not sure of dryness.....drop your hydrometer in it

Your hydrometer is your friend (is there an echo in here?)

most supermarkets have staff that are trained to assist you in the selection and purchase of the wines they stock....I find they are normally pretty knowledgeable and helpful. Also somewhere in the wine aisle there should be a giude to the letters and numbers used on the bottles, have a look for it, and perhaps ask if they have a spare you can take home to study.

If not sure just type the name of the winery and the grape varietal into google and you can find tons of information.

hope this helps
    regards
    bob