Red wine No 2 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Red wine No 2 question

Hello there, I am a newbie to the world of wine making got a load of different brews on the go at the moment and have got a gallon of red No 2 on the go and the sg is now 990.
    Time to de-gas and stabilise. Now here lies the question. It says to use potassium with sulphite (to prevent the geranium smell) but I am not to sure how much sulphite to use. Can someone help?

At the moment the wine is pretty dry tasting so I will back sweeten when the potassium has had a few hours to mix thoroughly.

If someone could shed some light it will be muchly appreciated.
    Cheers
    Ant

1 campden tablet or 5ml 10% sulphite solution.

Best to leave it 24 hours to do it's stuff so I've read.
    With Grape flavour comes grape responsibility

Comment

thank you kindly.

Comment

Originally posted by ukric View Post
        1 campden tablet or 5ml 10% sulphite solution.

Best to leave it 24 hours to do it's stuff so I've read.
        As above but no need to wait before adding the PS it can be added at the same time.

Clear it first before back sweetening is my advice
        Alcohol causes you to forget things, and some other stuff I don't remember!

Comment

Sorry, perhaps I misread, I meant after you have added sulphite and PS leave it 24 hours.
          With Grape flavour comes grape responsibility

Comment

thanks chaps,

So let it clear before back sweetening then? Ok, thanks for the tip.
            I presume it'll be ok as the wine is at about the DJ shoulder level. (leaving room to back sweeten.)

Comment

Originally posted by parsnipman View Post
              I presume it'll be ok as the wine is at about the DJ shoulder level. (leaving room to back sweeten.)
              Yes, OK at shoulder level for a week or two but not to much longer.

I rack and add a good finings (Kwick Cleer) when clear usually within a week I filter and then bottle or store in bulk