Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dispensing from a cornie keg

Hi all
    I have decided to cease all grain beer brewing & concentrate on wine instead. As I get older I prefer wine more than beer now, & the AG process is time consuming & dangerous to a degree with all that boiling hot wort.

I intend to utilise as much existing kit as possible which includes 6 cornies (4 of which fit perfectly in a dedicated fridge).

I wondered if anyone had any experience of dispensing from a cornie? It seems all I need to do is change the CO2 for NO2 so as not to carbonate the wine.
    This method should allow a longer storage time than the bag in boxes you can get.

What do you think?

One of the members here , Cellar_Rat, will be along at some point. He uses Cornie kegs to dispense wine. I'm sure he will be quite happy to offer you any advice.
    Dutch Gunderson: Who are you and how did you get in here?
    Frank Drebin: I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith.
    -Police Squad

Comment

ooooo a pet subject - ta for the intro matey!

Yes indeed. Wine does well in corny kegs. 3 x 18 litres corny kegs take the contents of a 54 carboy boootifully.

5 PSI moves it nicely. Don't leave wine under C02 for too long it will absorb it.

no2 ?? Miixed gas IMO is better, if you drink it very slowly the last couple of glasses sometimes get slight taint - it natures way of telling you to drink quicker.

Get an extra 'in' connector and use this to back wash the dip tube.

TFR (aka truck wash) is a brill cleaning solution to get any red wine staining off.

Store with a splash of spirit in (cheap Vodka will do) to ensure not funky pongs. When you want it recycle the vodka and fill. Simples.

Cornie's are my preferred solution for drinking wine.
      Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Comment

Cheers for the info Cellar_Rat.

Originally posted by Cellar_Rat View Post