Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting from decent to good

I think I find myself at a crossroads!

I've been making wine for about three years now.
    Generally pick bramble and elders at this time of the year, then for the rest of the year stick to supermarket juice wine.

That's fine and the receipe's on here are great.

My first year making bramble and elder were actually quite sucessfull when I got round to drinking them.

At the moment though I have probably about a dozen gallons of various wines in the loft which should be ready for bottling.
    That lot comprises about five gallon bramble and elder from last year, couple of second run rose's some bramble on it's on..with a rose, some cherry and elder and that kind of thing.

I've been up a few times and tasted them, my quandry is just what to do with them to make them really nice..by that I mean that I could happily open them and give to a tguest and be confident they would like them...or even just know that I can open one myself on a saturday night and really enjoy the fruits of my labour.
    They taste ok...but some could do with sweetening, others seem a bit acidic(maybe) otyhers a bit thin etc. etc.
    It's the "fine tunning" I'm having trouble with.
    The result is i'm putting off bottling them all for fear of not getting it right.

I appreciate there is no substitute for experience but it's getting it in the first place..
    One problem i have is that even if I know I really like a shop bought wine...I couldn't describe WHY I like it or what specifically is good about it.

I've considered doing a wine appreciation course at college and wonder if anyone thinks that is a good idea?

I know this is a bit of a rambling post...but I'm thinking that if I can't get this right I might start losing my enthusiasm for the hobby.

Any tips/hints/support/boots in the bum would be appreciated!