Getting the gear!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting the gear!!

Hi All, I'm a complete newbie(used to brew ale many moons ago, but never wine) so need to invest in all new gear.

What is the cost of startup to make some decent quality wine of around 11% ABV red wine?(not looking for a chateau neuf du pape yet, more the 3-for-12 type you find in tesco-on the other hand not the 'orrible ribena tasting english wines that tesco sell either)

Is ebay the place to look as I would think a lot of peeps give up if the first batch comes out wrong.

Regards

Matt

Get some decent gear to start with I'd say, rather than buying too cheap to start. Buy cheap, buy twice.

You looking at doing 6 bottle stuff, or 30 bottles?

Have a word with Karl, (Duffbear on here) who has a shop at www.hobbywinesupplies.co.uk he does some starter kits, but I'm sure if you ring him he'll put you on the right track for what ever type of wine you want to make.

There are other homebrew shops too that do starter kits too..

I've assisted a few friends to start using Karls kits.

Comment

And,

Welcome to the forum

Comment

Many Thanks, Will do,

It looks like around 75 squid to get started?
        I guess its best to start with a 6 bottle, until your confident you wont be throwing the lot down the sink!!??but once you get it right, the longer you keep it the better, so a 30 bottle must be the aim, and make a batch every couple / few months??

Matt

Originally posted by Rich View Post
        Get some decent gear to start with I'd say, rather than buying too cheap to start. Buy cheap, buy twice.

You looking at doing 6 bottle stuff, or 30 bottles?

Have a word with Karl, (Duffbear on here) who has a shop at www.hobbywinesupplies.co.uk he does some starter kits, but I'm sure if you ring him he'll put you on the right track for what ever type of wine you want to make.

There are other homebrew shops too that do starter kits too..