Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oak in a supermarket juice wine

Hi All,

I have a sachet of oak left from one of the paklabs kits. I have never really used oak before but wondered if it will be any good added to a wine made from supermarket juice...?

Is there a fruit flavour that oak goes well with? Any suggestions on which juices to use...?

What does oak actually do to a wine...?

[QUOTE=Delmonteman;88819]Hi All,

I have a sachet of oak left from one of the paklabs kits.

I recently ordered a paklab Cabernet Sauvignon (not tried on before) via Amazon - there are no oak chips in the box - should there be? on the ingredients list it says "may contain oak" does this mean it is pot luck if you get them?
    could I use some small oak strips myself - if so how many - and from seasoned oak or can I use green oak- and at what stage
    sorry for all the questions, but I am a newb and hope you guys can give me some guidance

Comment

Pretty sure there should be two packs of oak in that kit.

First off, ring/email Amazon and complain! See what steps they take. You're not the first to report an incomplete paklab kit here.

Then, use some decent oak in it, it doesn't cost much from a proper homebrew shop. I'm sure Karl could send you some out cheaply. Give him a ring on 01977 599885 and mention the forum

Comment

Originally posted by Delmonteman View Post
        Hi All,

I have a sachet of oak left from one of the paklabs kits. I have never really used oak before but wondered if it will be any good added to a wine made from supermarket juice...?

Is there a fruit flavour that oak goes well with? Any suggestions on which juices to use...?

I've tried a wine number one (Super market grape and apple juice. Recipe on here) with oak from a Beaverdale kit. As we like oaked chardonnay I found this worked well and improved the complexity of the wine. It did take a month for the oak to come through after it was bottled.