Bulk ageing in glass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bulk ageing in glass

Recently, on an American wine forum, I read an interesting thread that really rather concerned me. The thread basically asked the question how long can you safely age a wine in a glass carboy and the answers got me wondering if I've been doing it wrong for the last 18 months.

The consensus of opinion seemed to state that it is pointless and possibly detrimental to the wine to bulk age in anything other than a wooden barrel. It would appear that wine will only age if micro oxygenation conditions are present and that cannot happen through glass. Micro oxygenation can happen correctly through a cork bung but (and I was surprised to find out) wine can receive too much oxygen and spoil through a water filled airlock. It is something to do with the transfer of oxygen molecules through water.

Wine will also not age in a glass carboy if a bung is used that seals the wine completely from the atmosphere. The thread went on to say that if the wine is finished and clear then it should be in either a wooden barrel or in bottles.

All of my wine is currently bulk ageing in either glass demijohns or carboys plugged with either water filled airlocks, solid rubber bungs or plastic Safety corks.

So the questions are, what are people's views on this and should I be bottling all my finished wine or ditching all my rubber bungs and using cork on everything that is bulk ageing.

Rob

The Ozzies are starting to experiment with ageing in HDPE

you ask 25 winemakers, you will likely get 28 different answers.

Barrel ageing is great (but V expensive here in the uk)

I wouldnt use cork....to open to spoilage

go with what works for you

regards
    Bob
    N.G.W.B.J.
    Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
    Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

Originally posted by lockwood1956 View Post
      you ask 25 winemakers, you will likely get 28 different answers.