Sanitising with sulphite and PET

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sanitising with sulphite and PET

I recently picked up some kit from my local home brew shop and being a newbie I asked the owner for advice as has been making his own beer and wine for years.

I know a lot of people here use sodium metabisulphite for sanitising and I asked if he recommended it. He said that it's not recommended for PET FV vessels as it attacks the plastic and can create pitting where bacteria can hide. Is this overly cautious or a real concern.

I can't be certain that you won't cause pitting. I have been using sulphite for sanitising my better bottles, plastic fermenters, etc.. for the last 3 years. I haven't had an infection problem yet (touch wood), and all my better bottles are still in use. I think scrubbing with abrasives is more likely to cause pitting. The routine I follow is to wash out the BB as soon as I've finished racking using hot water (<60C or it'll deform the plastic) fairy liquid (stains can be removed using oxy clean though I haven't tried this). rinse with plenty of water and spray 10% sulphite into the fermenter (about 50ml), wrap the neck in clingfilm and store until needed.

http://markblades.com
    Bebere cerevisiae immodoratio
    These days I'm drinking in Charcot's Joint.

Comment

I always use sulphite solution in HDPE fermenters and better bottles, and have never had an issue (also touching wood)

regards
      bob
      N.G.W.B.J.
      Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
      Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

I normally use bleach to sanitise my 7 gallon fermenters by filling them up with 3 gallons of hot water and 3 tablespoons of bleach, but it is recommended to use a 10 % solution of Sodium Metabisulphate.

Do I spray this solution to the inside of my fermenters wait five minutes then rinse, or add 5 mls to every gallon of hot water and roll them around a bit. (with the lids on).

Gary

Comment