Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beaverdale advice please.

Hi

I'm fairly new to this so a little advice would be very much appreciated.

I've got a 30 bottle Beaverdale Barolo on the go. The instructions state that I should rack it at Sg 1010, which it should be by tomorrow.

Question is this. My fermenting vessel is a Youngs fermenting barrel with the 4" screw top. I also have a Youngs bucket. Can I rack in to the bucket then wash and sanitize the barrel before transferring back?
    I also have a better bottle type carboy, should I rack in to this? My only concern would be that it wouldn't leave any head space for degassing.

Thanks in advance.

I have to do my second racking into my fermenter and then back again.

No problems - be gentle with it, try not to induce to much air.
    Gluten free, caffeine free, dairy free, fat free – you gotta love this red wine diet!

Comment

I would rack to the better bottle

You could rack to the bucket, and then wash out the container with the big hole at the top, and rack back into that, but once fermentation is complete you need to exclude air, so it will need to go into the better bottle eventually, so better going straight into it..

you can remove some of the wine for degassing purposes

regards
      Bob
      N.G.W.B.J.
      Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
      Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

Thanks for the answers guys.

I actually have two 30 bottle kits on the go at the moment, I have a beaverdale Cabernet about 5 days behind the Barolo so unless I can get another Better bottle before its time to rack that, I'll have to re use the youngs wine barrel.
        How long does it take for Oxidisation to start to cause a problem?

Comment