Need bottles, any ideas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need bottles, any ideas

Hi there, I'm new to this wine making gig and have rather jumped in with both feet. I have a 30 bottle Elderberry (from dried) a DOC Cab Merlot and a Reserve du chateau Barolo (after reading the reviews about Amazon bargain! )

The problem now will be bottles, does anyone have any ideas for getting some for free.

I'm sure a couple of years ago it would have been easy to wonder down the street on a 'recycling' night and pick up quite a few but since the Councils have all gone to those large wheely bins it has made it more difficult.

I have tried the local bottle bank but these have a very high hole and are so far from being full are of no use at the moment.

I really do not want to have to buy them if at all possible but living in a small village (Bolsover, Nr Chesterfield) there is no large bars or eateries to bother for bottles.

Any help would be welcome.

Thanks
    SuzieQ

I think you have already covered most options. Cellar-Rat will no doubt post pictures of his weird-and-wonderful device for retrieving bottle from a bottle bank (I'm sure he must be a relative of Steptoe ).

Have you tried Freecycle? I got a load of bottles that way a couple of years ago. I asked for cork-type bottles but offered to take any screwtops too. I'd just take the screwtops to the bottle bank, which meant I was doing the donor a favour too.
    Pete the Instructor

It looks like Phil Donahue throwing up into a tuba

Comment

Thanks goldseal, I have posted on freecycle and have had one reply with a couple of bottles! Not going to go far with all those kits on the go. However the lovely man did say he will keep saving them going forward so that was good of him.