Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best tinned fruit wine?

Hi guys,

I am new to these froums and have been making my own wines fro about 1.5 years now.

I was hoping somebody can give an opinion on what you think are the best tinned/jarred fruits to make wine from. I love elderberry, sloe and blackberry wine which I have all made using fresh fruits.

I am about to make a gallon of bilberry wine using a 460g jar (drained - 200g) of polish bilberries in syrup. I have heard bilberries make the best red fruit wine of all! Apparently 1 x 460g jar is enough to make 1 gallon, with the addition of 250ml of red grape concentrate. This should give a decent body to the wine.

I would imagine tinned strabwerries and also tinned blackcurrants make a great wine as well. Can anybody comment on the difference between Riberna wine and tinned blackcurrant wine? Ribena sounds a lot easier to me ......

Thanks!

Hi Old Thumper, glad you could join us.

My Ribena wine has turned out awesome every time I've made it. Tinned strawberries made a great wine as did tinned peach. Pear took a long, long time to clear but was great when it did, and apricot was good too. Search the recipe section and you'll find loads of ideas.
    Let's party

AKA Brunehilda - Last of the Valkaries

Comment

Thanks Mamgiowl!

i will give Ribena a go when I have a free demijohn.

I just started my 2 gallons of bilberry so will report in the coming months what it turns out like. I have not been able to find many recipes at all for this wine so I am just hoping it goes ok....