• Sweet Gala apples 4kg (£3.58)
    • Gold Pineapple x3 (£2.67)
    • 2 gal’s water
    • White sugar 2.95 kgs (6.5 lbs)
    • Citric acid 2 tsp
    • Pectic enzyme 3 tsp
    • Yeast nutrient 2 tsp

Total: £6.25

This is the 1st wine ive made. It is currently sat in 2 demijohns, it has fully fermented out very quickly and using the hydrometer i worked it is 15.1%! leaving to clear now. When i racked it into the demijohns one of them (one on right) got a bit of sediment in it by accident. This has now gone funny and floated to the top. I fink this mite be a malo- latic ferment as i disturbed it while shaking to degas, but im no expert so let me know!

I tasted a bit while racking and its very fruity can taste distinct apple & pineapple with very dry aftertaste. (S.G is 990) i will sweeting it i fink as thats a bit dry for my taste. Let me know what you think.
    Attached Files

What an excellent colour.

Maybe, if you can remember (mixing/fermenting notes ???), could you post any info about starting gravity, or any other useful "technique" type info (yeast etc).

The recipe looks like an excellent one to try from the local tesco's

regards

JtFB
    Women will never be equal to men until they can walk down the street with a bald head and a beer gut, and still think they are sexy.

Some blog ramblings

Comment

Starting gravity was 1020, after added 6.5lbs of sugar it was 1095 ( although i added sugar in 3 stages.) The yeast i used was Young's all purpose white wine yeast. Yes it does sure look tasty!
      Last edited by Habel; 01-06-2008, 03:05 PM.

Comment