Gooseberry Wine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gooseberry Wine

Well, today I went fruit picking with a friend.
    She is a bit of a Jam/Jelly/Chutney maker....
    And she wanted to pick some strawberries and gooseberries.....

We actually came back with a massive punnet of strawberries and gooseberries... and half a punnet of raspberries and redcurrants.. EACH

I have checked Berry's book.. so I am gonna follow that for the gooseberry recipe...
    ( Its my first time making wine from real fruit)..

The recipe in the book looks easy enough...the only thing that concerns me slightly is the straining bit...

Anyway... Will keep ya all posted on the gooseberry wine progress
    Insecure people try to make you feel smaller.

Confident people love to see you walk taller

Outstanding, I think I'm gonna have to visit the local PYO next weekend.

If you're following CJJ's recipe, don't forget Bob's suggestion about adding sugar incrementally, because I understand that lot's of then have a bit too much sugar.

CJJ's recipes should get you a good level of the fruit flavour, but if it's a bit high on the gravity then it might need a bit of meddling to make the ferment go smoothly.

Well done on getting the fruit though (I had the offer of a mountain of red and white currants last week during our visit to Lancashire but none of them was anywhere near ripe).

regards

JtFB
    Women will never be equal to men until they can walk down the street with a bald head and a beer gut, and still think they are sexy.

Some blog ramblings

Comment

Yes...

as with ALL recipes, (but particularly CJJ Berry's)amend so that you add sugar to a specific starting gravity, (I suggest 1.080) dont just use the amount specified in the recipe.

regards
      Bob
      N.G.W.B.J.
      Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
      Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

Ah... good point about the sugar...