Blackcurrant wine advice before I start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blackcurrant wine advice before I start

Looking at godlseal recipe and Bob's recommendations I was going to give this a try:

TWO 470g PEK Jar Blackcurrants in light syrup
    1.5lb sugar (approx. Aiming for SG 1.080)
    1/2 tsp citric acid
    1/2 tsp tannin
    2tsp Pectolase
    1tsp Yeast Neutrient
    Bentonite
    GV2 Yeast
    1 250g tin of Red Grape Concentrate
    Water to 1 Gallon (1 and a bit to all

I'm thinking about the grape concentrate since I found a tin at the back of the cupboard that is nearing its use by date and thought it might add a bit of a kick to it! Maybe a bit to much of a kick? Should I remove the tannin since I have the concentrate?
    Last edited by koomber; 25-04-2010, 04:56 PM. Reason: Forgot I use 2 Jars of black currants. Orignally I said 1
    Dutch Gunderson: Who are you and how did you get in here?
    Frank Drebin: I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith.
    -Police Squad

It amy be a little light on fruit with just the one jar of blackcurrants, although it should be ok because of the grape concentrate.

Looks ok, don't add all the sugar to start with, check after 1lb, easy to add more.

Seems like a lot of tannin for a light 1 gallon, and not much acid. Have you an acid test kit at home?

Comment

Originally posted by Rich View Post
      It amy be a little light on fruit with just the one jar of blackcurrants, although it should be ok because of the grape concentrate.

Looks ok, don't add all the sugar to start with, check after 1lb, easy to add more.

Seems like a lot of tannin for a light 1 gallon, and not much acid. Have you an acid test kit at home?

Oops. Typo on the black currents. I've got 2 jars in there.