Damsons & Plums

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Damsons & Plums

I was given a kilo of Damsons to which I have added a kilo of Plums to make up the weigh as I am making a gallon batch of wine ( remember I am a newbie t this) I am freezing the fruit right now to assist the de-stoning, now could I add some Elderberries to darken this wine down to more of a red than a rose??? any other tips would be appreciated. Oh I am also adding 500g of Raisins washed of their oil.

Originally posted by makaholic View Post
    could I add some Elderberries to darken this wine down to more of a red than a rose??? .
    Cant see why not, careful you dont load up with too much fruit though, i would only add around 500g elderberries, if adding more, consider making it a two gallon batch....
    N.G.W.B.J.
    Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
    Wine, mead and beer maker

Comment

I have three kilos in the freezer, I'm planning on using them with two litres of elderberry juice to make two gallons of wine (i.e. ~3lb damsons and 1 litre elderberry juice per gallon. Sound reasonable Bob or do you think that's too much elderberry?)

I'm not going to bother storing the fruit, I'm sure there's a really good reason why you should but I find it too much hassle with damsons - unless they're cultivated ones that are nearly as big as plums. I just mash them around in the fermenter twice a day.

Don't forget to use pectolase, and don't heat them.

Comment

Originally posted by lockwood1956 View Post
        Cant see why not, careful you dont load up with too much fruit though, i would only add around 500g elderberries, if adding more, consider making it a two gallon batch....
        Forgot to mention that I have dried Elderberries so that might change the quantity??

Comment

I would add no more 125g of dried to your mix, if making a gallon.
          N.G.W.B.J.

Comment

Originally posted by benarnold View Post