Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Damson wine problem

Hi all

i have recently started 3 gallon of damson wine in a bucket which was working well, the SG came down to around 1.010 so i added sugar to 1.030, drained off the pulp and split the wine into 3x 1 gallon demijohns, after 24 hours all was well all 3 DJ's were fermenting well, but in the last 24 hours one of the DJ's has stopped working but the other 2 are still bubbling away merrily
    so my question is why has this happened what did i do wrong and what should i do now? i am new to wine making so please be gentle with me
    regards Alan

I'm still quite new too, so gentleness assured :-)

First thing is never take a bubbling or non bubbling airlock as a sign of fermentation, always go on the SG. I had a cider which I thought was stuck, turns out there must have been an issue with the bung or airlock or something not sealing properly, and the gas escaping but not via the airlock.

I would take the SG of all three demi johns first of all to see if they are progressing similarly.

I would also take the SG of the one you think is not working 24 hours apart and see if there is a difference, that would indicate it is still fermenting.

Comment

HI

A couple of things you might consider in addition to mrdexters thoughts.

1. what was the OG of the brew? If too high then you may just have exhausted the alcohol tolerance of the yeast.

2. which yeast did you use? see above.

3. how much /which nutrient did you use? . Any off smells (eg sulphides) from the DJ's may indicate a low nutrient level. If so, add 1/2tsp tronozymol (dissolved in half a cup of must otherwise you may get a wine volcano) and give it a good stir.

4. give it a week and see if the sg has changed. I had a xmas pud wine which took forever to finish but got there in the end (with the addition of nutrient and patience)

I am sure wiser heads will be along shortly with much sage advice.

regards

mark

http://markblades.com