Steam juicing damsons

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steam juicing damsons

Hi, does anyone know if I need to remove stones from damsons before steam juicing? Thanks

I'm a newbie also.. but when I checked the recipe section there's a thread about stones in plums & damsons....http://www.winesathome.co.uk/forum/s...mson-Plum-wine ...and I would guess that it would be the same with steam juicing....I did a gall of damsons the other week and I did remove the stones...pain in the harris I know.

Comment

Nah! cobblers to that. Like Bob says in the thread that the TT linked, for fruit that are easily held, yes I'd de-stone, but for damsons, I'd have a go with my olive/cherry press, but if the fruit was a bit too soft, I'd just freeze, then thaw them (which is exactly what I do with Sloes - they're far too fiddly to follow the traditional route and prick them individually with a pin).

Besides, if you haven't "damaged" the stone in any way, the possible bitterness should (theoretically) be minimal. Yes, it's possible that if you took the effort to de-stone them, you may get a better wine, but I'm far too lazy for that

p.s. and yes, I do have a steam extractor, but I wouldn't use it on "prunus" fruit like plums or damsons, it'd likely set too much pectin and you end up with haze central - equally, yes that can also be sorted, but I just find it less effort to freeze/thaw, mix a must, then hit it with pectolase for a day or two, then pitch the yeast (of if it's looking a bit iffy, sulphite it and then 24 to 48 hours after that, pitch the yeast).
      Women will never be equal to men until they can walk down the street with a bald head and a beer gut, and still think they are sexy.

Some blog ramblings

Comment

I agree with John

For damsons....freeze and thaw and either press them or pulp ferment

I no longer de-stone damsons

regards
        bob
        N.G.W.B.J.
        Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)