2008 yield/I might have some grapevines to give away

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2008 yield/I might have some grapevines to give away

Hello everyone (particularly in the south of the uk)

Last year I planted some Rondo vines here in Southampton. I bought some spares and potted them up in buckets where they've been quite happy. Last year all the ones that I planted out survived and most put on a good few feet of the single shoot I let them grow. If they show signs of life later in the spring then I won't need the spares. The vines came from the Vinehouse and are grafted on to SO4 rootstock.

All being well, I'll have about 6 to give away if anyone is interested, let me know. I'm posting this so you can think about the space you'll need to grow them . Despite what the experts say, I'd suggest 2 metre spacing. As Bob says they are vigourous growers....

I can't advise what weight of grapes you'll get per plant in a few years' time as I've got no experience with this variety. In general, grape yield can be significant in the right site/conditions. eg our house faces South at the front and I have a 5 year old Boskoops Glory trained across the front of the bay window. The idea was it would shade the lounge a bit and give us the dappled sunlight effect. Given last years abysmal weather in the Summer, what we got was a dark green lounge . Despite the poor weather, I was amazed to get 28 pounds of grapes from this one vine. It's trained along a 3 metre trellis in a sort of triple Guyot; about 10 shoots per metre run. Final Brix wasn't as high as I'd like at 20; I should probably have thinned it a bit, but the wine is coming along ok . For comparison, I was getting the odd pound or so from my other vines (Regent, Queen of Esther, Siegerrebe, Phoenix)

I wound up with about 35 pounds of black grapes after sorting/destemming which made me three gallon demijohns

Chris
    Last edited by chris_b; 24-01-2009, 12:54 PM.

Top banana