Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question via PM

Originally posted by Squirrell
    hi hope u can help i have a question, i recently made oak leaf wine with infused leaves from my oak tree, all was going well till the end of fermentation and i added stabilizer, the wine within 24 hrs turned black, it still smells of and seems ok, is it safe to drink like this and what do u think the cause could be
    many thanks for taking time to read this

I have posted this question in open forum, I have no knowledge of oak leaf wine, havng not made it, anyone?
    Last edited by lockwood1956; 02-11-2008, 09:31 AM.
    N.G.W.B.J.
    Member of 5 Towns Wine and Beer Makers Society (Yorkshire's newest)
    Wine, mead and beer maker

It is possible it may clear of its own accord though, give it some time.
    N.G.W.B.J.

Comment

Bob/Squirrell,

I also haven't made oakleaf wine, but recall reading something about it (either here or elsewhere, but seem to recall happymondays either making it or asking about it).

Anyway, I think (no guarantee's as it might have been elsewhere) that CJJ mentions it (maybe in "First Steps").

The recommendation was that oak leaf wine was only made from new leaves i.e. spring leaves, because the older, more mature leaves contain an excess of tannins. Ergo, not such a "nice" wine.

I'm wondering if that or maybe some sort of oxidation might have occurred here....

I'll have a look at the books I have and see if I can find what it/they say on the matter...

regards

JtFB
      Women will never be equal to men until they can walk down the street with a bald head and a beer gut, and still think they are sexy.

Some blog ramblings

Comment

It is indeed a CJJJJJJJJJ Berry recipe from "first steps"

I've not made it as I apply my only ferment what you would eat/drink

just because you CAN ferment it, doesnt mean you should (parsnip for eample)