Why did you start making wine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why did you start making wine?

As the title states; what made you decide to take up wine making? I have because I'm a poor starving student who refuses to pay for a bottle of wine. Not everyone's as stingy as I am though, so why make it?
    I appreciate that some of the more..... experienced... members of this forum probably started making wine so long ago that they can't remember why...

because you can make far better wine than what you can buy in the supermarkets,at a fraction of the cost.
    i personally love picking the fruit for the wine,a very satisfying job

Comment

I started to make wine for two reasons , firstly i was never a wine drinker just having the occasional glass with a meal. I only ever drank white but my daughter got me onto the reds and i got a taste for them, i enjoyed red so much with the wife and sons that it was getting quiet costly, so decided to make my own after a break of 30 years or so. Best thing i ever did, the wine i have made is very palatable especially raspberry and damson(my favourite) . I think that as i generally pick my own wild fruit it gives me a great satisfaction to make and enjoy the wines i produce, and with the help of this site am getting better .

Comment

While working in Italy in 1990 I boarded with a husband and wife who grew grapes in their garden and made wine in the cellar. Their wine was simple and good. I decided I wanted to do that someday myself. Although the "someday" didn't come until 10 years later, I now have 30 vines growing in the yard. For me it's a relaxing hobby more than anything. Nothing better than going out to the garden in the morning and tending to the grapes.

Oh... and the wine is pretty good too.

Steve
        Steve

Comment