Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beaverdale Rojo Tinto - 1st Kit

Hi,

This is my first attempt at making wine, I've done lots of reading and decided to make a couple of kits before experimenting with fruit wines.

I've bought a beginners kit from my local home brew centre, I went for a Rioja as this is what I tend to drink most of the time. They also recommended the Gervin wine yeast No.2 strain GV2, rather than to yeast which comes with the kit. Not sure if anyone has any experience with this yeast?

I was a little concerned that the instructions don't mention adding any sulphite throughout the whole process, but I've worked out that the stabiliser has sodium meta bisulphate included (E223), I presume I don't need to add any extra? Or perhaps I should add some when bottling?

I am hoping to use this as a kind of blog to keep track of my first attempt, following the instructions 100% to the letter (unless some experienced wine makers tell me otherwise). I am sure I will have some questions as I go along :-)

I'm excited to be part of this excellent forum, and can't wait to get started

Cheers

Originally posted by Sharpyuk View Post
    Hi,

This is my first attempt at making wine, I've done lots of reading and decided to make a couple of kits before experimenting with fruit wines.

I've bought a beginners kit from my local home brew centre, I went for a Rioja as this is what I tend to drink most of the time. They also recommended the Gervin wine yeast No.2 strain GV2, rather than to yeast which comes with the kit. Not sure if anyone has any experience with this yeast?

I was a little concerned that the instructions don't mention adding any sulphite throughout the whole process, but I've worked out that the stabiliser has sodium meta bisulphate included (E223), I presume I don't need to add any extra? Or perhaps I should add some when bottling?